Working through resistance and relief of a long list

Jen

Registered
I'm new to gtd and am just in the process of getting the system up and running for my home life before diving into gtd for work. I thought this would be the easy stuff but it's been more of a challenge than I expected.

As I've found the start of the process quite tough I just wanted to share my feeling for others out there going through the same thing. After an initial flurry of enthusiasm I came up against real internal resistance to listing my loops and then finding the next actions. It left me feeling really anxious and showed me that I'd been hidding from thinking about lots of stuff.

Having pushed through to a nearly completed NA list I'm starting to feel better about the process. The sheer length of the thing makes me feel slightly more justified in feeling overwhelmed at times.

Next job is to clarify my projects and to start pushing some of the NAs into someday/maybe, which is where they've been in reality. It's certainly enlightening to see everything listed out together

TesTeq

Registered
After an initial flurry of enthusiasm I came up against real internal resistance to listing my loops and then finding the next actions. It left me feeling really anxious and showed me that I'd been hidding from thinking about lots of stuff.
Good job!

Everybody feels the same after taking the GTD (red) pill.

Suddenly - when we choose knowledge and freedom - we can see the truth of reality.

Castanea_d.

Registered
Jen, welcome! TesTeq is right; we all run into this.
Something I found helpful on the topic of resistance is the book "The War of Art" (Steven Pressfield). It can really de-rail us at times and keep us from doing the things we should.