Looking for clarity going from Next Actions to Projects

Evan Siegel

Registered
I'm new to GTD and while I feel confident it will work for me I am struggling to fully grasp part of this system. The whole next actions thing is throwing me off. What i usually do is either daily or in weekly review just write everything done in my head that I have to do, be it personal, home, work, etc. Then I go through the steps ask if it's actionable, 2 secs... If something is actionable it then becomes a project, with actionable steps to realize the outcome of that project. At this point, do i cross off the item from the next actions list? Let's say I have a project that has 3 steps. each of the steps has to have either a due no later than date or a firm due date. where do I manage this? Professionally, I use MS project, it's helpful to see a project both from the summary level but also at a decomp. This would seem burdensome and overkill to use something like this for personal 'projects'. Am I to assume that if you have say 150 next actions and lets say all but 20 require action and cannot be done in 2 mins then you essentially have 130 'projects'? that seems like a ridiculous amount to manage. in other words, how do you go from writing something down as a next action to actually managing it from beginning to end, but more so, a large list? What i don't want to do is have to review this stuff every day because then it comes a burden, but if you have a large project list I don't see how you can avoid this.

what is the simplest way people go from next actions to executing and managing project actions?

If i ask myself on any given day what are all my projects, when do they need to be completed and what do I have to do to complete them, what tool are people using to see this all in one place? The key for me is all in one place

Dragon

Registered
If something is actionable it then becomes a project,