Any other authors out there like David Allen?

M

MarkTAW

Peopleware is (I hear) a good book. It's based loosely on flow and talks about how task switching is bad because of the ramp up time involved, and how a good, quiet work environment is necessary for certain kinds of book.

Flow itself was a good book, but I couldn't read past the first half or so. Ironically, the book didn't seem to be written by someone in a flow-state, or cause a flow-state in me.

severance1970

Registered
Peopleware is an excellent book -- a very streetsmart look at project management from a software development perspective. For some reason, even though I'm not a professional programmer, I've always been attracted to books on software project methodology and software project management research. Programmers, analytical by nature, are very good at empirically determining what works and what doesn't, and how this doesn't necessarily comport with our assumptions. For instance, Peopleware was the first book to argue and back up with metrics that giving programmers individual offices instead of mere cubicles dramatically increased productivity, despite the ostensible increase in overhead. I believe Microsoft continues to adopt the office-per-programmer approach as a best practice. I'm looking forward to reading DeMarco and Lister's newest book, Slack: Getting Past Burnout, Busywork, and the Myth of Total Efficiency.

I wish I could be as excited about Flow as so many people on this board are. I don't really disagree with anything Csikszentmihalyi says; I just think he's milked a rather simple concept into numerous book-length publications, where a single essay would've been sufficient. Abe Maslow seemed to place the theme (he called flow "peak states") in a more appropriate perspective. The one exception in Csikszentmihalyi's work is his exposition on the research he did on flow vis-a-vis the Experience Sampling Method: Optimal Experience: Psychological Studies of Flow in Consciousness.

M