Help

gator

Registered
Hello,
i have read GTD several times, and I have started to implement this new process. I'm still not comfortable with my day to day routine. I am a Medical Sales Professional with only 10 key accounts. I have a PALM which I seem to only use for long term reminders and a contact database. My problem is that while I'm in one of my hospitals a customer will ask me to follow up, or place an order, check on a backorder etc., and when the day is done I have this messy sheet of paper with notes for several accounts. I have never been able to find a Daytimer type system that I trust. I go from using the PALM back to paper and so on. Any ideas?

A

Anonymous

Paper/Palm

I'm in sales too.

If you look at my post on the 5 phases you'll see that my challenge is doing all 5 phases. I think that in sales it imperative to do processing and reviewing. Processing has to be done every day and probably after every sales call. Collect it in a notepad - its faster. Organize (store it) in your palm.

One has to ask oneself after every call:

What needs to happen now as a result of this sales call (outcome)?

Whats the next action?

This is "processing".

Organizing is the decision of where to store that project or next action or support material from the sales call.

I've noticed that when I dont review a week of sales activity its like putting a gun to my head as far as the following week is concerned. I'm going to miss connections I could have made and opportunities because I havent looked at the whole picture.

GTD can be a salespersons salvation!

F

Frank Buck

Gator,
You are using the sheet of paper as a tool to "collect," and there is nothing wrong with that. Collecting on paper and then doing the processing and organizing in the Palm is a very accepted practice. Many would say that is the best way regardless, and I would agree it's the best way to get started.