How to setup toodledo for GTD

Gracepearson

Registered
I have been trialling toodledo and am contemplating buying a subscription

i am an expert GTD user but I am not sure how to set it up in toodledo

the windows browser version i have downloaded seems to use folders for the GTD categories (inbox, next, someday/maybe, agendas etc) but this limits the filtering i can do with tags. An important context is sunny/dry, wet, windy because this determines the kind of work i can do on the farm. but the way tags seem to be setup I cant "cut and dice" my actions very well. In other words, i want to separate my life into farm cattle, farm repairs and admin (tax, payments, etc), my counselling studies, and family but this seems to belong in folders but they are already used by the GTD categories. So i am confused. I looked in the guides and the forum for any documentation but found none. I also looked on the david allen shop but there is no GTD guide.

Appreciate any suggestions

bcmyers2112

Registered
I haven't used Toodledo in a long, long time, but I still have a free account and I just took a look. My knowledge could be out of date, but folders, contexts and tags appear to be 100% customizable, which is how I remember them. I'm not sure why yours seem to be pre-set, but you should be able to delete what's in there and create what you want.

I am also not sure what you mean by the "windows browser version." I've used it on the web only. AFAIK they have a bookmarklet which is really just a shortcut to get to the web app, but no downloadable client.

You won't find a GTD setup guide because they haven't done one. They choose which apps to create guides for based on the number of requests they receive, and there may not be enough people requesting one for Toodledo.