Is iPhone worth the wait for GTD?

jasonswank

Registered
I have been using the GTD method for several months now, having read both books and been lucky enough to get a copy of the GTD-Fast seminar. All outstanding. Like Mr. Allen, I use a Palm - an old Palm, the M505 to be exact. I have been meaning to upgrade (a Treo, maybe) but haven't because I'm waiting for the iPhone. I am not a Mac user (with the exception of iPod/itunes) but I've been wanting to make the switch. My question is for you Mac users. Do you think the iPhone will be able to accomodate a "bullet-proof" GTD system. I know nothing about iCal or Notes. Any suggestions, or should I just upgrade my Palm and forget about all of the cool iPhone hype?

mcogilvie

Registered
jasonswank;47925 said:
My question is for you Mac users. Do you think the iPhone will be able to accomodate a "bullet-proof" GTD system. I know nothing about iCal or Notes. Any suggestions, or should I just upgrade my Palm and forget about all of the cool iPhone hype?

I think none of us can know much at this point about what the iPhone will be like. It will be 1.0 and expensive. Apple is driven much more by connectivity and multi-media rather than personal productivity. It is possible that the iPhone will couple well to the new notes and todo features announced for Apple Mail in 10.5, but 10.5 (Leopard) is now delayed to the Fall.

Personally (and I switched completely to Macs over the last few years), I would buy either an inexpensive palm (E2?) or a Treo, depending on my phone needs/desires and my time horizon. I have a T/X, but WiFi on a Palm has not been very useful for me.

cornell

Registered
I wouldn't wait

I'm no iPhone expert, but when it came out one thing that struck many was its lack of software expandability. I believe Apple's position was that they would control everything - no third part apps, which would require doing GTD using built-in tools, whatever they might be.

madalu

Registered
mcogilvie;47931 said: