Nozbe/ Outlook

alir

Registered
Hi I am new to GTD and looking for advice. I have to use Outlook for emails and calendar but have fallen in love with nozbe - is there any way to use them together? I have been a franklin planner addict and even have their plug in for outlook that I love - not sure I love the GTD add in - seems too hard to set up but then again I have not tried it but have looked at the webinars. I am a project manager for a real estate development company so I have tons of tasks that are mini-projects and many other committments. any suggestions are appreciated!!

jbkendrick

Registered
Using Nozbe

While I don't have any specifics on using Outlook with Nozbe, I do have a great deal of information on my blog at http://johnkendrickonline.com about using Nozbe. You might find some of the posts there helpful, just check the index for Nozbe. John

BaasShapShap

Registered
David Allen - Using Nozbe and Outlook

Hiya, I bought the Outlook plug-in about a year ago when I got started on GTD and at first it seemed like the answer to my prayers. My inbox was zero’ed regularly :)

BUT my task lists were growing massively and I seldom worked on them as I was being repelled by them. I sat down one weekend to figure out what was wrong. I released that the problem was that I was simply shifting emails from the inbox to tasks and never actually doing the thinking about what the email actually meant and creating specific next actions. I resolved to change, but didn’t, it was just to easy not to do the thinking! Also, I have hundreds of @waiting for’s, again, too easy to create them without thinking about whether I really needed them.

So I moved to Omnifocus, but having work on Outlook and Omnifocus on Mac did not work very well and when travelling I have to try and do it all on my iPhone. But, I got the thinking part done. Before I would swivel seat to create a task in Omnifocus I would think about whether it was worthwhile doing and what the specific task was.