Outlook Email processing--what to do when cannot quickly define next action?

wjrosie

Registered
I'm new to GTD but have been reading/watching webinars for the last week...
The one item that isn't clear to me yet is how to handle/process emails when the next action itself will take time to sort out. Does anyone have an approach for these? My apologies if i'm starting a thread where one already exists...i searched but couldn't find one specifically on this topic...

Thanks,
Bill

Roger

Registered
It can be tricky.

The very first step in the process is "What is this?" which sometimes is easy and sometimes leads to a lot of swearing.

Probably the cleanest way to handle this within GTD is to create a Next Action: "Figure out what this email actually IS" and proceed from there. Don't be surprised if one email contains a whole lot of things: some for Reference, some Waiting Fors, some Next Actions... it's not as unusual as perhaps it should be.

Cheers,
Roger

Oogiem

Registered
wjrosie;112102 said:
The one item that isn't clear to me yet is how to handle/process emails when the next action itself will take time to sort out. Does anyone have an approach for these?

I don't use Outlook but I do get some e-mail where even just figuring out whether an item is actionable can take a while and then figuring out the next action gan take as long as half an hour. I am struggling with e-mail processing in general but the biggest help for me is that once I go in and start processing e-mail I just stick with those long ones until they are done.

wjrosie

Registered
Multiple actions from an email...

Thanks...great suggestion.
For those emails that require "multiple" follow-ups?--e.g. waiting for, next action, etc. do you copy/past/move them into several areas?

Roger;112104 said:
It can be tricky.

The very first step in the process is "What is this?" which sometimes is easy and sometimes leads to a lot of swearing.