Salesforce.com

thr61

Registered
I have been using GTD for about 6 months with much success, but realize that I need to push my system pretty hard to make it really work for business development and CRM. I find that for project management and the end stages of project development, it is fine; the problem lies with the proactive and regular contact with prospects and leads. I am using the Outlook plugin and am quite happy with it.

I realize I need to step up the business development, opportunity tracking, and other CRM type activities. I looked at ACT! and have read the horror stories about its performance. Then I discovered salesforce.com and have begun to play with it a bit. It can certainly do what I need it to do for CRM, but see a considerable amount of overlap with my Outlook based GTD solution.

Is anyone using salesforce as their exclusive GTD tool? Or (hopefully!) has anyone been using both salesforce AND outlook with the GTD plugin?

Any experiences with the above or suggestions as to other CRM approaches will be most appreciated.

Thanks.

joeycan

Registered
thr61,

I went through the same troubles as you. My recommendation is If you like outlook and you want to add more of a CRM capapbility to it. I would take a close look at Avidian Prophet as it does not affect your outlook set-up at all just pulls data from outlook and shows up in outlook as two folders. Take a look here

www.avidian.com

For me it does everything I need and I can still do my GTD workflow in outlook like I always have. I find Avidian to be a very powerful CRM package and much better than Act.

thr61

Registered
This looks promising. Too bad it doesn't have a free trial, just a money-back offer.

Still, it is about the price of one month of salesforce.com and it does allow me to stay with a system that is working.

Has anyone else used this product?