The Right Level to Define a Project

Kirk

Registered
I was wondering if any of you folks had some views on what level you should define projects in the GTD methodology? I've been practicing GTD for a while (Jan 2011?) but it's always something I've felt conflicted about.

Many of us will work in environments where what an organisation defines as a 'project' is definitely something that doesn't align with what a GTD project is. But my question is how far down in detail do you go to define your GTD projects? What process do you go through mentally or what rules do you apply to 'prove' you've met the right level? I'll give you an example for me.

My overall goal is to bring our PC estate for the organisation to Windows 10. That's really how our senior leaders would see it too. But, to my mind that's way too high level. So, I go deeper and could say...

1. Undesired applications are not visible to end users (e.g. candy crush)
2. Users can select cost centres whilst printing
3. User Start Menu configurations aren't lost during feature upgrades

Each of these items reflect a specific outcome I'm working towards with each of my next actions. Perhaps the Windows 10 'project' (in the eyes of the organization) is more a horizon 2/3 thing in the eyes of GTD.

How do you do it? I'm trying out GTD connect so if there's some useful resources there on this topic I'd welcome recommendations.

TesTeq

Registered
Many of us will work in environments where what an organisation defines as a 'project' is definitely something that doesn't align with what a GTD project is.
My GTD projects are mine. Not organization's. They reflect my role in the organization's project. The only exception: if the organization's project is a one-person project delegated to me then it is my GTD project.

FrancescoPlli

Registered
When my eyes look at my GTD projects list my mind reads them in GTD terms.

In your example on my projects list there would be: