The travel is killing me

Skip151

Registered
I have been using GTD for 6 months now and really struggle with it due to my travel schedule. I'm generally on the road three days a week (meetings, customer calls, dinners, etc.) and use my office days for just pure catch up. Unfortunately, it's more time on the phone and less time organizing and prioritizing. :(

So, I invested in the GTD Add-in hoping it would rally me around the cause. I struggle with what to do with everything, I know read the book! It's more than that; it's @Action vs. @Defer vs. Snooze! Where does it all go?

I need to figure out how to work around my hectic schedule. I probably need a lot more than GTD! If I sound desperate...., I am.

Help!

W

Walter

One thing at a time

My primary suggestion would be to take your time implementing. Keep your current work going, keep the travel going and your current responsibilities and work GTD in as you are able.

You may have to schedule a couple of weekend hours over the course of the next couple months to work with it some.

It took me a couple weeks to get my email under control, another few weeks to get my files in shape and I am still finding projects to add and other things. I haven't even started implementation at home yet and I read the book 3 months ago.

Get the CDs and play them while you travel. Even if you don't implement yet, listening to them several times will help you stay motivated and get the ideas into your brain so as you implement you won't need to keep referring to the book to refresh yourself. In other words you can use the travel time to learn the system without implementing it just yet.