Using Omnifocus on iPad and Outlook on Windows PC - SOOOO Confused!

Mark@Home

Registered
Hi all! I'm a GTD newbie. I feel like I'm drowning in email, tasks, and projects and after researching new methods, I have decided on GTD because it closely matches my style (plus the friendly folks on here make it seem like the right choice). I hate to start a new thread on something that has been talked about ad nauseam, but I'm just not finding enough information to make a solid decision. I'm ready to get setup but want to make the right choice just once and not keep reworking my system. So, here's my question...

I work in a Windows environment (Win 7). I love the features of Omnifocus, but as we all know there is no PC equivalent. I'm familiar with Outlook, but am afraid that if I setup GTD in it I won't have the functionality of carrying it with me on my iPad. I think I've decided on using Omnifocus on my iPad, Outlook for email, and Evernote for reference material. Somehow I just keep getting confused and ask myself - Should I just use Outlook and Evernote? Should I use OneNote instead of Evernote? Maybe I should use Omnifocus, Outlook, and OneNote? Wait... what are the feature differences again? All that inner discussion has led me to spend time everyday over the past 3 weeks searching online for the answer. I keep coming across different forum threads and it seems to all come down to personal preference. I wish I could find one definitive answer that said, "Mark, in your situation you need these apps and programs. Now, go set them up and enjoy your new stress free life." Does any one have such an answer?

P.S. I'd like to add that a part of my confusion is how do I manage so many emails and actions, delegate, defers in outlook AND Omnifocus? Won't I be duplicating steps and keeping things in 2 places?

Barb

Registered
Keeping it simple

Hi, Mark,