What about iffy projects?

K2Karen

Registered
I’m just getting started with GTD and have blocked out the next couple of days to get set up.

I have a question about dealing with “iffy” projects. I have a couple of personal projects where the next action is: decide if I’m going to do the project. I got started with GTD once before, and this lack of decision got in the way.

For example, my dog has shown great aptitude for herding and I’d like to try my hand at competing with her. I compete in several other sports, so it will be challenging to find time for this extra activity. There are several ways to get started. One way is to attend a one-week training camp held in a beautiful community. The camp is in April. If I were committed to doing this, I can see how to break this down into tasks such as call the trainer, send a deposit, make hotel reservations, get time off from work, etc. But really, the next task is: decide whether or not I want to go. I keep putting off this decision and before I know it, the deadline will pass and we won’t go. In the meantime, it is taking up “brain ram” as I fret about it.

My question is: do you have any procedures you go through to clarify the vision of a project?

I may be answering my own question by the way I phrase it :lol:

I suppose I need to ask: Why do I want to go? Or more importantly, Why do I want to train her in herding? And what would be a successful outcome of spending this time (and money)?

Thanks for any insight you have to offer.

C

CKH

All right! Something I may be able to help you through: Dog stuff!

Maybe you need to focus, at a 10- or 20,000-foot level, on how incorporating herding activities into your schedule would *feel* to bring your feelings to the surface and make a less costly, but more profitable, decision.

For example: