What do you use Outlook Tasks for?

mlprater

Registered
Hi Folks,

I have no need for the task panel.

But it's such a clever aspect of outlook.

How do you use it?

I have four folders in Outlook.
Urgent/Important
Not-Urgent/Important
Urgent/Not-Important
Not-Urgent/Not-Important

I get to inbox zero everyday just about, and often get to what's in box 1. The others often fly into the ethos. I make sure my friends and family understand that, and so far it's reduced my stress quite a lot. Now that I'm comfortable with this system, I'm ready to bolt on another feature.

Sorry if this duplicates some other discussion. I can't search the forum for "tasks" very easily, so I'm posting.

Also, this is my first post. If there is some other forum I should use, please let me know. I'm new to G(S or T)D.

Thanks,
Matt

dashik

Registered
I personally don't use Outlook's Tasks as my task manager (I have another tool for that), but I do use the Tasks feature as my ticker system.

A lot of the web apps you see for GTD now may or may not have a full-fledged ticker system (called "reminders" or "notifications" or similar), but I have one main problem with those: The "notifications" are too subtle. Some will either simply pop up within the browser window (requiring me to keep my browser open all the time to the page), while others have the option of sending me an email (which, again, I might not immediately check). Others have the option of sending a text message to my mobile phone, but I'm in a particular situation where I can't/don't want to receive text messages.

So only Outlook's obtrusive "pop-up" system is really effective for tickling or reminding me of certain tasks when I'm at my computer. I find that it's also useful as a general reminder system, or if you want to make it a habit of doing something at a certain time everyday. I often have a task reminder pop up with a checklist of items to do when it's time to, say, do a routine backup of my computer files.