what to do about 'shoulds', 'ought to's' and soft deadlines?

O

on_the_mic

A criticism I've heard of GTD is that it emphasizes urgency over importance.

And while I totally agree with Dave's argument about 'intuition' - and i personally find it a waste of time to assign priorities to everything - I do seem to be falling into this trap, namely: I do what's easiest and not most important.

I'm looking for a way to remind myself - in the heat of the work day - that something is important.

Particularly what gets left behind are those self-directed projects with no immediate deadlines - in fact, no deadlines at all - which makes them easier to ignore in favor of active work projects.

Which is what happened before GTD, which is the whole reason I got involved with GTD. I tend to get sucked into busy mode and ignore the NAs necessary to keep other projects going. But that's no good. As a freelancer I have to keep those other projects moving - or else when this project's done i won't have any NEW work to work on. :)

I really liked andmor's suggestion to 'make an appointment with the project'. I'll try that.

Meanwhile I have a basic question. Let's say I do my weekly review and I see - Oh - that project should definitely get moved forward in the next three days. Note: SHOULD. Not MUST. So I don't put it on my daily calendar. And then all kinds of stuff happens, and the next weekly review comes around, and I realize- I haven't moved forward on that project at all! Just because I got so busy. I try to do the weekly review more often - but it's not the weekly review that's the problem. It's reminding myself of what I decided in the weekly review, when I'm actually working.