What to do with projects (like shopping lists) that come and go?

propynyl

Registered
I'm new to GTD, and so far I have a love/hate relationship. I feel like it is the right system for me, but it seems a little too complicated to master to be useful...anyways, my question...

What do you do with Projects (like "Home Shopping List") that are constantly being formed and completed. For example:

MONDAY: I create a Project from the list of actions "Buy Cheese" "Buy milk" "Buy toilet Paper."
TUESDAY: Project completed.
THURSDAY: I record action "Buy paper towels"
FRIDAY: I record action "buy orange juice." (I now have my shopping list project again)

Do I keep an ongoing "Shopping list" Project, and not check it completed even when it is not filled with actions? But any Project without actions is not a project.

I use omnifocus (if that matters)

Thanks

kewms

Registered
I keep a running (paper) shopping list in the kitchen. When it gets long enough, or I'm going out to run other errands, I buy everything on it and throw the piece of paper away. It's outside my GTD system, except that I'll create an @Errand Next Action when something requires more immediate attention or can't be purchased at my usual grocery store. (Examples include shopping for a party or other event, or buying unusual ingredients.) I keep similar lists for pet stuff and office supplies.

I throw all financial stuff in a pile when I process the mail, and have a reminder to work through it once a week or so. Similarly, I augment this with appropriate Next Actions for things that need special attention. (Ordering foreign currency for a trip, say, or following up with a slow-paying client.)

Do these examples help?

Katherine

dschaffner

Registered
propynyl;61306 said:
I'm new to GTD, and so far I have a love/hate relationship. I feel like it is the right system for me, but it seems a little too complicated to master to be useful...anyways, my question...