Who's using this approach ? (with Outlook 2003)

N

neils

I'm new to GTD, but understand the importance of spending (several days) trying to creat the right structure before Processing my Collected items.

I see the flaws in David's original approach when using Outlook. The approach shown here appears to work well.

http://home.comcast.net/~whkratz/id3.htm

I even setup Reference and Someday/Maybe folders in same way as Projects

So I've added a few test projects and items, and it really does look like it might work. But the I come to Sync with my Windows Mobile 5.0 PocketPC and... I don't see any way to Sync or Access the new Folders. It only seems to wants to copy Calendar, Tasks and Notes.

So is the approach at id3.htm not feasible for pda sync ?

Someone please tell me how they've most effectively implemented GTD using Outlook 2003 !

Neil

p.s. for Reference folder I set it as Notes type. But obviously Outlook notes is fairly limited. What do other people find best, and can you sync with pda ?

mcogilvie

Registered
neils said:
I'm new to GTD, but understand the importance of spending (several days) trying to creat the right structure before Processing my Collected items.

Actually, it is more important to keep moving with the process, and to give each step a serious effort in making it work. If you concentrate too hard on structure, you will never have it.

neils said:
I see the flaws in David's original approach when using Outlook. The approach shown here appears to work well.

http://home.comcast.net/~whkratz/id3.htm

I even setup Reference and Someday/Maybe folders in same way as Projects

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "David's original approach," but it is not flawed. Many people have implemented his suggestions in many different ways, and have their systems working just fine.