Add email NAs to master (paper) list or keep separate?

Botany_Bill

Registered
I'm new to GTD, using a paper system.

I thought David (or the book) said to put all Next Actions in one place (separated by context, of course). But in a recent podcast, he said to manage NAs from emails in a NA folder in Outlook. I like that because it's easy to drop emails into folders. But it seems like this has 2 problems:

1) Emails from others are rarely written in a format that gets to the point of what _I_ need to do next.
2) This means I need to look through 2 separate NA lists, which feels wrong: I may miss something because my head could be in one list and not the other for a while.

So, should I not write all NAs from email into my paper NA list? How do any of you handle this?

Thank you!!

mcogilvie

Registered
It really depends on you and your work, and maybe your email client. High volume and quick email responses might mean managing email next actions within email is better. Lower volume and more thinking involved might mean an external list works better. Personally, I have no problem with a hybrid approach that combines the two, but I use flags instead of a next action email folder.

Murray

Registered
If you want to keep all your action reminders in one place - a worthy goal - then I would suggest to clarify and track the actions in your paper system and file the emails under a label called "@Action support".

In this way of working, the emails are there to support you to take action but you're not relying on them to remind you what the action is.

(Or go even more minimal... file the email in reference or achive, and use search to pull it up again. This is what I do. You can copy the subject line of the email into your action reminder if you are worried about finding it.)

Gardener

Registered