Another “Areas of Focus or Project” thread

talundbl

Registered
I’ve enjoyed reading the very many posts on this topic.

In particular @TesTeq posts on hard lines between AofF and Projects.

However, I think I’m also getting stuck in a world between project and area of focus.

As part of my job i lead large negotiations with Companies over extended period of time. I also advocate for clients in arbitrations (but I’m not a lawyer) which also can take a long time to prepare, with many steps in between. So, in your view, is the negotiation/arbitration itself a project or an Area of Focus?

For example: “Write bargaining proposals” is definitely a project, it is finite and is discrete. So is “Prepare for Aug 1 bargaining meeting with Company.”

“Negotiate a collective agreement for client x”, which would be the parent of these projects, is more abstract, the timeline is less finite, but is also nevertheless discrete in that it is either “not done or done”.

So is the negotiation a project or an Area of Focus? Or a project within a project? And then where does the actual Client fit in, if they have both arbitrations and negotiations which are relevant to them?

I imagine lawyers in particular would face this problem or business owners with few clients. You have a case-file that you are working on over an extended period of time. It is discrete, but there are many “projects” in side that (research, writing, meetings to prepare, etc.)

Interested to hear what you all think...part of the problem may be that I’m trying to squeeze different types of work into Omnifocus, which has a strict Folder (AofF), Project, Task structure. So no Projects within Projects and the lines have to be neat.

Thanks for taking time to read.

TesTeq

Registered
So is the negotiation a project or an Area of Focus? Or a project within a project? And then where does the actual Client fit in, if they have both arbitrations and negotiations which are relevant to them?
Thank you!