Asana for GTD - best practices

user_name

Registered
Hi all

First up, just wanted to say thank you for all the great advice in this forum - it is much appreciated.
I've been using GTD for a couple of years and it's been great. My tool of choice is Facile Things - not perfect, of course, but works brilliantly for me.
But here's the problem: in my new job, EVERYTHING goes through Asana. I've been trying to maintain both FT and Asana side by side for the past month and it's been a nightmare.
So I'm considering going 'all in' on the Asana basic plan and migrating over.
I've got the GTD set-up guide, which has been really helpful - but I'm really interested to know what pitfalls to avoid and for people to share best practices.

Some initial questions I have are:
  1. Do you run it with the context lists (@office, @home) or do you find a more 'traditional' project works better (Renovate bathroom) Note I’m integrating this with work boards so will most likely have to use tags for contexts rather than lists.
  2. What's the best way to add info like time (15,30 mins, 1hr, 2hr) and energy (high, low) as well as priority?
  3. Is there any way to automate it so that next actions automatically get added to the 'to do' list or do you have to do this manually?
  4. How do you work with horizons? FT is great because it allows me to assign areas of focus (health) with goals (run a 10k) as well as the other horizons.
  5. How do you stop Asana showing you EVERYTHING? I want to see just my next actions rather than every single sub task in every single project as it's just too much and impossible to see what to do next.
If there's anything else, I've missed please do let me know. I do appreciate that it's not a great idea to spend a ton of time on set up, however as this is essentially a forced migration I would really like to build it with solid foundations.

Apologies if this has been covered before - please do share that thread below.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Sarahsuccess