Finding/making discretionary time

Shineapple

Registered
Hi all,

I'm a long time GTD student/practitioner who has this year moved from working for someone else (office job) to working for myself (horse riding instructor). I am very much enjoying being able to both do work I am passionate about, and manage my own schedule, direction etc.

What i am finding however, and what I am hoping you may be able to help me with, is that (probably typical for a sole-trader/owner-operator) I no longer feel as though I have much discretionary time available. My days are filled with travel to and from lesson appointments, doing the lessons, and then the routine daily personal and work admin that is required to keep myself and the business afloat.

I do try and schedule an hour first thing each morning of discretionary time to pick out my priority next actions, but it just doesn't seem to be enough time to really make much progress, and my next actions are increasingly putting out fires and dealing with urgent important tasks. I sometimes have a little time in the evenings, but I find myself completely mentally and physically drained by that point, and even the most mundane tasks seem to be beyond me then. As this goes on I feel like I am having less opportunity to look over things from a higher perspective, and consequently, it is also getting harder to make the priority decision.

Even just writing this post out it does occur to me that there is a limit to how much I can take on and that possibly I need to decrease my workload, change my business model, and/or outsource some of my routine admin etc. However, at this early stage in the business, I think it will be some time before I have the ability to do so.

Does anyone here have ideas for how I may be able to better 'get things done' during this stage?

Gardener

Registered