FlyLady vs. GTD

P

pageta

I've been doing FlyLady for over a year and recently discovered GTD. I have done tons of decluttering and my house is ready for company in minutes. However, I have struggled with the morning routine - I am a very creative person and when I have a good idea, I want to make the most of it and take it as far as I can. I'm a SAHM so it really doesn't matter if I don't shower until 10:00 unless I have an appointment in town. I'm thinking GTD will help me get the morning routine done - I'll still take a shower, but I won't be stuck to a routine that stifles my creativity.

I'm wondering if there are any other FlyBabies out there and if you quit FlyLady or do it in conjuction with GTD.

Cheers!

Instigase

Registered
Scary, I was just reading the FlyLady site when I saw your post pop up on the RSS feed thingy...

I'm approaching this from the opposite direction. I've been practicing GTD for the past three years - its certainly had an effect on my outlook and work. Ive been trying the FlyLady technique at home to help my SAH spouse.

If your home is ready for visitors in less than 5 minutes, it sounds like you've got the spirit of the FlyLady if not the exact method. So my question is does it really matter if you dont have a strict morning routine?

If you feel you need to develop a routine, then an approach in the GTD fasion would be to have the tools available to capture that creative moment and save it for the processing and then acting on that idea. I've been carrying a set of index cards on my person or within a step or two to capture an idea that I cannot act upon that moment. I know I cant do it right away, but I feel assured that the idea has not slipped away since its been captured and I have a system for reviewing it at least on a weekly basis.

Good luck!

Cordelya

Registered