Getting away from the grind

beirne

Registered
I've been using GTD for a couple of months now and am discovering the peace-of-mind benefits of having all of my tasks listed. In the GTD seminar CD David explains that enumerating the tasks lets you handle your workflow like in the old days when you would go to work and have a defined set of things to do, eliminating a lot of time spent agonizing over what you have to do. The good part of this is that you don't spend all you time wondering what you are missing. The bad part is that I feel like I'm on the clock 24 hours a day. When I'm at home I'm using the GTD method just like when I'm at work, and I feel like I'm never away from the rat race. How do people deal with this?

I

intrigueme@aol.com

Good Morning :)

You're starting to touch on what GTD is REALLY all about; once you get beyond "surface level" (in my humble opinion) - so don't let go just yet.

(I've touched on this a couple of times before on the board, once was in the GTD/Zen thread I believe...)

You're correct that GTD is about "clarifying" our work. The next step is that GTD is about "objectifying" our work. "Objectifying" has gotten a bad rap in some cultural settings....women saying "you're objectifying me - not BEING with me" (yes, objectifying a person is a bad thing).

BUT- objectifying our work is a GOOD thing! Several times - David has said there is a realization that takes place of "you are not your work." Putting them on a list allows us to stop "REacting" emotionally to our work. It turns them into a totally logical, object. That is also why he suggests we pare them down to the simplest, very Next Action. It strips away the emotional "filling in the blanks" that comes with "amorphous blobs of stuff."