Gmail and GTD: Google Tasks or Gmail Labels?

thomas b

Registered
I know at the end of the day the answer to my question is completely up to one's preferences, but I thought I will consult fellow more exprerienced GTDers before I take dive.

I GTD using Gmail and GCal. Im having a hard time deciding whether to use Gmail labels as context and project lists (as described in Kelly's whitepaper) or to use Google Tasks.

I'm concerned with time and focus loss when switching back & forth between tasks and Gmail. It really does distract me. On the other hand, when using gmail labels I have my master inbox & context lists at one place, quickly at hand, with useful features like drag & drop and labels custom colors (I'm a visual type of guy).

But: Tasks seem more natural way to go, as they allow you to attach an email message to a task, set up due dates, etc. Downside to them is there is no uncomplete task count next to list, so I have to manually review them as frequent as possible. No such problem when using gmail labels and appropriate filters.

Right now Im using an uneffective blend of above two approaches, and it really bothers me. Also, I try make my Google based system as simple as possible, make it get out of the way and let me get my things done :)

Could and experienced Google suite users share their opinions on this? Which one you think is the way to go?

kelstarrising

Kelly | GTD expert
Labels vs. Waiting For

Hi Thomas,

You can do it either way. Wayne and I wrote a detailed article on using Gmail Labels to manage Tasks: http://www.davidco.com/coaches_corner/Kelly_Forrister/article78.html (it's a few years old now, and Gmail has changed a bit, but the general concept still applies.)