GTD and OneNote

ellobogrande

Registered
Thanks for the great article

Your review of OneNote has inspired me to give it a try; I'm glad I did! Though I'm only using the most rudimentary aspects of the software, I'm already starting to see the benefits. This software has strong potential to transform the way we engage with digital support material. It's definitely worth a try.

One feature that I particularly enjoy is the ability to copy and paste a segment of a web site into a notebook page. ON treats these like text boxes in word; I can edit the contents and move them where I see fit. That's much nicer than printing off pages or keeping track of favorites or individual URLs.

WebMarketer

Registered
OneNote is a great tool!

Cool stuff. I've been using OneNote myself for about 2 years now. When I first came across this amazing tool, I was impressed by how cool it looked. But I couldn't figure out if this software could work for me, so I quickly dismissed it.

A while later, I decided to give ON another chance, taking a more serious look at its features and actually using it to manage small work projects. Very quickly I fell in love with it!

While I don't always use OneNote for each of my projects, I find myself using it to brainstorm ideas for certain work projects and to jot down next actions for each project. I also use it to store all kinds of checklists and information that I can refer to regularly (books to read, travel lists, meeting preparation lists, etc.). For some of my sensitive information, I even have a separate password-protected section in ON.

I have a default notebook in ON called "My Work Projects". Each project has its own page in the notebook (I have about 5 to 8 projects in ON right now). For each project -- say "Launch New Site for Client XYZ" -- I just go to the page and can immediately have access to my NA's and important project support materials in there, such as links, client notes, future ideas for the site, etc.