GTD as a leader - ideas?

D

Dan Erickson

I've just begun work in my first position of management. I'm new to the organization and am responsible for nine people in three departments. I'd like to teach Getting Things Done by example -- has anyone had success in this or any advice?

Here's one way I plan to expose everybody to GTD. For my first all-staff meeting I'll hand out 5X8 cards and markers to everybody. We'll spend about 10 minutes on our own doing a GTD-style "mind-sweep" with one item on each card. I'll draw a grid on a white board with "runway" at the bottom working up to "50,000 feet" and divide it horizontally into thirds for short, medium and long term. Then I'll take the stack of completed cards and just start taping them to the board at their appropriate vertical and horizontal levels with the whole group's input on where each card should be placed.

My vision is for that completed board to be a graphical first draft of a strategic plan. Duplicated cards will show me specific areas of concern for the staff. Since I'm new this is a chance to see at a glance any functional areas I'm not yet familiar with. And, best of all, its a team approach getting the entire staff involved in the process.

So has anyone else done GTD in a group setting like this?

Thanks for the input,

Dan

A

AMS