GTD for Lawyers Help Needed

BWaltrip1981

Registered
Fellow GTDers and Lawyers. Want to speak with another attorney or get advice on an issue I have. I am a trial attorney who has three staff and three other attorneys. My oversight of other attorneys is not exorbitant (maybe 30-45 minutes a day meetings to review their work or questions), but I manage the small firm so I handle all the business related aspects in addition to my own caseload.

Unfortunately, I am endlessly stuck in the "Clarifying" stage and struggle to get to the actual Next Action items. Part of this is the volume of emails I get that require more than 2 minutes to respond. I can generally keep up with the less than 2 minute emails, but once I have to deal with emails that generate next actions or take 10-15 minutes to respond, I get bogged down and can't get to the actual legal work of drafting, etc.

I have tried to process my "inbox" to 0 every 48 hours, but not sure that is realistic. For example, I did so over the past weekend and Monday at 8:00 AM, I had 37 new emails in the inbox. (I had hoped/planned to come in and get started right away on next actions). Over Monday and Tuesday while trying to also complete next action items, I got that down to 22 on Tuesday night. I awoke to over 40 emails again this morning.

I am trying to determine how long I need each day to "Clarify" work, and I'm beginning to think I need at least two, maybe three solid hours a day to handle 2 minute emails and Clarify work. Couple this with my court schedule and other firm responsibilities, and I'm not sure how much time is left for actual Next Actions related to my specific cases. (drafting Motions, etc.). I have a great staff who keeps me on top of documents I need to review and file, but I'm sort of stuck at this point.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I do use the @_____ to help breakdown my emails. Maybe I'm missing something.