GTD for me?

K

kingmonkey

Hi there,

I have not read any of the allen literature yet but have browsed the forums but fathom out just what the GTD system is. I have a few questions and apologise if this has been done before.

1) In a nutshell could someone explain the basics of the system.

2)It appears from the boards that the system is predominately business focused and people seem pretty organised to begin with. How can the GTD system help me who has proplems organising any of my activities?

I suppose i have many more questions and intend reading the books its just i am in desparate need of organising myself and want to stick to a system that will help avoiding all sorts of problems that delaying action causes me.

I am a student whom only just manages to keep deadlines. but also stuggles with some of the most basic of activities/commitments!

3)Lastly just how difficult is the system to stick to and what benifits has it brought to any of you guys/girls?

Again apologies if this is going over old ground but any info or encouragement would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
R

J

Jason Womack

Re: GTD for me?

kingmonkey said:
I have not read any of the allen literature yet but have browsed the forums but fathom out just what the GTD system is. I have a few questions and apologise if this has been done before.

1) In a nutshell could someone explain the basics of the system.

Getting Things Done is a process you use to match your reality with your wishes. Here's how I say it in seminars, "GTD is about doing what you said you would do, in the time that you promised." In a nutshell:

Collect/Capture anything you have to/want to "do" out of your head; so that you can...
Process/Decide/Define just what your comittment is to that outcome by identifying the next action and (unless you DO it right then)...
Organize/Leave a reminder of what you "said" you'd do later, where you'll see it...later. Then...