How do hit deadlines? Do I need the GTD tool to include time needed per Action?

Ship69

Registered
Hi

Any advice on working to a deadline?

e.g. Suppose you have a single Project involving say 10 tasks (Actions) and sub-tasks that MUST be completed within say 1.5 days. It's no use just doing everything "as fast as possible" because I already know that there isn't enough time and to complete everything properly might take a 3 days or even a week.

So one needs to find a way to squeeze all the Actions into the time available - in this simple case 1.5 days.

As a newbie, I am using GTDNext which doesn't seem to have any way of entering how much time each task is likely to take (nor how much 'squeezing' on each task will be needed). I am looking closely at moving to MyLifeOrganised which is very much more comprehensive (but with this complexity comes a long learing curve.)

What I have had to do so far, is to copy and paste all the task/sub-task names out into an Excel spreadsheet and start entering likely times for each task and then adjusting them so that they are all squeezed into the lapse time available. Is there a better way of doing this? Should I be doing it within the GTD tool somehow?
In fact would as a simple project management tool of some sort be more appropriate?

Any thoughts?

J

ollie_r

Registered
I'm not sure this is really a tool problem, unless I'm misunderstanding the question.

If a deadline is really as tight as in your example, I think my first step would be to review all my lists for other critical stuff that I can't allow to fall through the cracks and maybe transfer them over to an overview paper, a punchlist or even the calendar.

Then I'd switch to "project focus" and only work off the project plan, instead of context lists, until the result is achieved.