How to find your contexts? Or use projects as the view instead?

folke123

Registered
Hi all!

I am trying to get into GTD and one of the things that are bugging me a bit is contexts. I work as a software developer (currently at home) and I am a bit of a nerd so a lot of my personal projects are also computer-related.

The context I currently use are:
  • @Private
  • @Work (I have separated them even though they are done on the same computer, or "private" are 90% computer tasks and 10% other home tasks)
  • @Errands
  • @"With girlfriend" - This one is mostly empty since we do not do as many "projects" that need to be planned before together
I am feeling that this seems OK but not perfect. Basically, 85% is in my two contexts "Private" and "Work" (And they could realistically be (Should be?) in one context called @Computer. I have only separated them since I don't want to see my private things when I should be working since that would distract me)

Is this "How it should be"? I have seen some people suggest splitting up the list to the tool you use like @dev-environment @mail but I don't really see the benefit of that, I usually try to keep my NA lists short (while adding new things from the projects/moving projects from S/M to active if the actions run dry) so these even shorter lists by tool might only have 1-2 items in them which seems more hassle than it is worth.

Is working "By project" an alternative instead of by context? For work I try, when I am not blocked by external stuff, to work on one thing at a time. So I might have the task "Implement feature X" where the tasks might be:

• Clarify what is wanted (talk with someone)
  • Make a plan on how I think it could be implemented
  • Google a few things
  • Program and try to follow my plan (and here I am googling stuff constantly) - this takes 1 hour to 2 weeks, with talking with colleagues if I get stuck