I got the 2 minute rule wrong.

cfoley

Registered
Oh no. I've been doing the 2 minute rule incorrectly for the last 10 years.

I thought it applied at the processing level. When processing an item from the inbox, if it is actionable and can be completed in 2 minutes then I thought it should just be done at that point.

When I reread the section yesterday, it became clear that it applies at the next action level. Any time a next action could be completed in 2 minutes, then just do it instead of writing it down. So, this includes when processing but also every other time I could write down a next action.

Honestly, I have had so much benefit from the 2 minute rule with my incorrect understanding that I can't wait to reap the rewards of it being applied properly. I'm just sad that my GTD clock has been reset. Now I can only claim to have been doing GTD for one day.

Is there anything fundamental that you have misunderstood about GTD that you only realised months or years after you began?

cfoley

Registered
:D

I am writing those 2-minute tasks down most of the time and do it when processing my inboxes.
Is this incorrect?

Do you mean that sometimes the things you have captured turn out to be 2 minute tasks? I don't think there is anything wrong with that.

Murray

Registered
Sounds to me like you've been doing it exactly right. 2 minute rule is to be applied when processing your various inboxes, not every time you capture something into your inboxes.

Processing (also called clarifying) happens when you decide to spend some time in processing mode. Capturing happens any time you have an idea or input that could potentially be relevant. You may be in the middle of doing something else and should not force yourself to stop that activity to do 2 minute actions, or even to decide if an item is actionable.

Your 10 year clock is safe!

cfoley

Registered
Ah, that's not what I meant.