Labelers broke down! How to replace

jmcorey

Registered
Hey all,

My label makers broke down, at home and work. I have 2 brother PT-65's; one that lasted 18 months, the other about 9 months. They have the same problem: the tape doesn't come out the exit once it prints, so it wraps itself around the inside of the mechanism. The cheapest place that would fix is $25 to open up, $18 to replace the mechanism, and 5 to mail.

What should I replace it with? An inexpensive Dymo? A Dymo label printer attached to my computer? Avery labels?

Help....

Thanks,

Joe

S

student

Yes, please share your comments about labelers. I'm slowly implementing GTD after reading about it in the Atlantic. I have a medium sized pile of collected stuff to file, but first need to rethink and redo my existing files.

I'm torn on DA's labeler advice. I'm a graduate student on a budget and it seems like overkill to me.

Do you use a labeler? Why, or why not?
What kind do you use, and what do you like and dislike about it?
Price estimates are welcome too.

Thanks!

moises

Registered
I go with a battery-operated Dymo Letra Tag. I've got one at home and one at work. It's cheap and I've never had any problems.

W

way2busymom

Avery has a free label maker for Word which you can download from their website (www.avery.com) I've found the add in very easy to use and to make one or two labels at a time. This might be a good stop gap until you could purchase another hand held label maker.

C

CosmoGTD

The AVERY label maker rocks. I use it all the time, and you can print one label easily, or print 10 labels in seconds.

If you call their 1-800 number they will even send you a free sample of a bunch of labels to try!

I prefer using the Avery to a labeler.
Cheaper, and way easier, for me.

Coz

EDIT: I just checked their site, and they are offering a "free" download for a version of a label printer for Outlook. Looks like it could just print envelopes as well.