Looking for GTD app/sw advice

f_gtdnewbie

Registered
Hi,

I am new to the GTD world and I am seeking advice on the app or software that would fit my need. Basically, I currently have several multi-project documents, each with two sections: a to-do list (with tasks and sub-tasks) ordered by importance/priority + notes about each project. What I need is to bring them all together in a software/app that allow me to build a list of to-do items for each list + notes about what I get done or meetings I have about the project in one place (critical) and then pull all the high priority items and show them to me in the “today” or “this week” screen (also critical).

See below for what I need (or do not need).

Needs
Three major projects categories (identifiable, e.g., color-coded)
Multiple projects within each category
Multiple tasks and sub-tasks within each project (sometimes dozens of tasks and sub-tasks within them)
Prioritize projects (1-5)
Prioritize tasks & sub-tasks (1-5)
- One of the sub-tasks might have a higher priority than the overall task
Assign deadlines to each project and task
Daily and weekly view pulling out/showing projects, tasks, & sub-tasks with the highest priority (1) & within a week of the due date
- Ideally, I would be able to broaden the view by including also items at priority 2, 3, etc.
Link notes (with dates) to each project (e.g., meeting minutes)
Archive all items that get done
Desktop-based (will run from my laptop)

Would be nice
Assign time needed to complete each task
Online access/synch capability with my iPhone

Not needed
Accessibility to others/team

Thanks in advance for any advice!

mcogilvie

Registered
You don’t mention platform except for iPhone, but you can probably do all that in Todoist. Frankly, I don’t recommend going into GTD with this kind of spec list, as it generally impedes progress. As Ivanjay25 asks “Are you looking to follow GTD?” The GTD book is a great place to start, and there are lots of resources here too.