Maintenance of Medical Licensing and other Professional Certifications

JillFunk

Registered
I am not new to GTD but am trying to fine tune my system. I am a physician and struggle with how to successfully manage all of the certifications, exams, license, hospital privileges, etc. They are perpetual projects with hard due dates but require work throughout the year/s in order to fulfill the requirements. I currently enter the due dates on my calendar and have them in my project list (I use evernote). I struggle with how to remind myself to work on the requirements (CME, study courses, fee payments). I seem to become numb to them as perpetual items on my next action lists. I have also tried scheduling time to work on them but when something comes up, they slip to a lower priority because of the protracted deadline and I forget about them until the next reminder. I think I am fundamentally frustrated that they are never really completed, once I do- it just starts all over again for the next licensing cycle. Any fellow physician GTDers or other professionals who have good ideas for how to manage the these many perpetual projects related to maintaining a medical degree?

gtdstudente

Registered
With all due respect, it sounds brutal to keep clear . . . meaning quite the challenge . . . have you tried/any success using a spreadsheet? Tickler File might be an option, thinking . . . only if you would be OK without having the big/strategic picture readily available?

Last edited:

samuel.d.kang

Registered
Hey Jillfunk,

It sounds like you have your horizontal control well oiled (calendar, projects list, and even time blocking).