Managing IT ticketing system inputs

ianfh10

Registered
I'm an IT analyst working in healthcare, with my role based around an EPR system (electronic patient record). Part of my role involves working in a helpdesk ticketing system, where tickets are submitted by end users. These are either incidents (something is broken in the system and needs fixing - usually more urgent) or requests (the system is working but we'd like to customise or change something - usually less urgent).

I already have my system set up in the office suite of apps, with To Do as my main driver for next actions, and OneNote as action/project support. I have other inputs, mostly Teams chats and emails which I can manage quite easily within office.

Because the helpdesk system is standalone, I'm struggling to incorporate it into my system. I try to treat it as an inbox, with the tickets as inputs, but the problem is I can't zero the inbox because the tickets stay put until they're resolved. Plus, I can't really clarify and organise them as I'd like - some tickets represent projects with hours or even days of work, while some are simply quick fixes I could class as standalone next actions. If they're larger projects, there isn't really anywhere to document a next action other than by attaching a note to the ticket, which is not a good action reminder for me because out of sight, out of mind.

I've attempted to duplicate them in my own system in To Do, so I can at least see them alongside my whole inventory, manually adding the ticket numbers to the actions and projects they relate to, but this is too much overhead for me.

Has anyone worked with a similar system or CRM? How did you manage an inbox like this that's causing friction?

cfoley

Registered
Software support with a ticketing system was part of my responsibilities in a previous job.