Mind Mapping with GTD

R

Robyn

Hi - this is my first post :D

I'm new to using GTD in my quest to get really organised. I use a paper-based planner: "Universal Personal Organiser" (The Mind Mapper's diary) designed by Tony Buzan, the inventor of Mind Maps. It is an A4 folder. I am currently using David Allen's recommendations (for setting up a paper-based planner) to modify it for GTD use.

I am also learning the art of goal-setting following Zig Ziglar's and Brian Tracy's recommendations, and trying to understand how the GTD process fits into the entire process of getting from HERE (itty bitty daily action steps) to THERE - the global total life end view (total life goals map).

In my (diary) paper-based A4 folder (I DON'T use an electronic planning system yet) I Currently I have NAs, Projects/Goals and Waiting For 'lists': BUT I've done them as Mind Maps (eg the NAs' sub-categories have a branch for @Computer, another branch for @Telephone, etc).

I hope to later get Mind Mapping software and the David Allen's Outlook Add-in program to use on both a desk top and (will buy later-) PDA, and have the three synthesised to work as 1 unit as much as possible.

Anyone who uses mind maps (whether paper-based or on computer) ... any ideas or comments on using (especially) a paper planner GTD-style with mind maps for just about everything? I really think the potential from combining the benefits of Mind Mapping with GTD would be enormous.

- Many thanks.

Robyn.

kewms

Registered
ResultManager, a MindManager add-in, is the core of my GTD system. It walks through my mind maps to find NAs, then presents them on a unified dashboard. I can either work from the dashboard directly or synchronize it with Outlook (and thence to my Palm). Expensive, but very powerful and highly recommended.