More efficient way of handling email (lotus notes) with GTD?

P

Phokus

Hi everyone, i'm kind of new to GTD. I currently use Lotus Notes at work and i want to use it more efficiently.

I'm an accountant and i have a lot of email and a lot of issues throughout the day. The way i have my folders setup is as follows

NextAction
WaitingFor
Someday/Maybe
Phone
Errands
Home
Anywhere

I also have a bunch of folders below that which i file emails that i either have finished with (in terms of 1 time actions or projects) or are things that i don't need to do anything with, but i'd like to keep for future reference (i.e. company wide emails on changes in benefits). For example, i have an "Accounts Payable" folder for AP related transactions and a "Personal Folder" for just about anything related to me but not necessarily work related.

Here's my problem. If i need to request something for someone so i can do my work, i send them an email and i file it in my 'waitingfor' folder. If i get a response, i might put that in my 'nextaction' folder (if i don't feel like processing the info i got right away), then i have to go back to the 'waitingfor' folder and move that message to one of the folders below for archiving. If i DON'T get a response, i have to go into the waitingfor folder, forward a followup to the person, and move the previous message in the appropriate archiving folder.

Is there a better way to do this? It seems like i have too many steps.

Thanks!

abhay

Registered
This is usual with 'waiting for's

I think this is not problem specific to lotus notes or so. There will be 'waiting for' items somewhere, and they will have to be taken out of that list whenever the response is received.