Motivational Strategies

A

Anonymous

I've been using GTD for a couple of months now and I definetly like it. The problem I have is sometimes I just plain lack motivation. No system in the world is going to do the work for you. Does anyone have any motivational strategies for the times when they just dont have it?

ckennedy

Registered
I have adopted a few ideas from Mark Forster (www.markforster.net) that work well for me when I need a kick to get moving.
In short I create a list with 4 columns and head each column 5 min,10 min, 5 min and 10 min respectively.
On the left hand side I write my major context related next action categories:
@ Computer
@Office
@Calls
I also add the following:
Process Inbox
Office Tidy-up

I then set a timer on my Palm for 5 minutes and then spend 5 minutes pecking away at each area (listed on the left hand side). For example, I'll do all I can from my @Computer list until the timer goes off. Then I reset the timer and spend 5 minutes on my @Calls items, and so on. When I've made it though the 5 minute items I then reset the timer for 10 minutes and begin again. If I'm not done everything by the end I begin at 5 minutes and start all over again.
Amazing what you can get done this way.
I often find I have to pull myself away from my work, as I start to build momentum.
Hope this:
a) makes sense
b) helps

Cheers
Craig Kennedy

A

Anonymous

A couple of years ago Marria, from the GTD board at Delphiforums, shared with me an excellent self-talk she was developing for focussed motivation. I wonder if she launched it …

Dave

A

Anonymous

I read an NLP technique once that goes as follows:

1. Think of the consequences of NOT doing whatever it is you are trying to get done;
2. Imagine those consequences are a huge, black, steel locomotive;
3. Imagine that locomotive is hurtling towards you, getting larger every second, and filling your field of vision, steam screaming from valves …

This should get you moving.