New to GTD - @Computer - ? RE: Outlook Sync to IPAQ

M

mrolive

I'm a GTD newbie, but am convince this is the approacch I've been looking for all my life. I've set up my email, tasks and notes per DA's direction in both books and in the Workflow Processing Guideline I purchased. When I sync my computer to my IPAQ 3870, I do not get the category breakdown. All tasks and notes come over individually.

What am I doing wrong? Surely someone has this figured out already.... thanks in advance for helping me be more productive!

webagogue

Registered
Re: New to GTD - @Computer - ? RE: Outlook Sync to IPAQ

mrolive said:
When I sync my computer to my IPAQ 3870, I do not get the category breakdown. All tasks and notes come over individually.

How do you break them down? Do you assign a value (category) to the "category" field on your tasks and notes in Outlook? Do you simply put them in folders?

Just an FYI, the ONLY way I`ve found to work the system on both a PC and PDA and maintain synchronize-ability is by using the "category" field.

M

mrolive

SYNC PC and PPC and retain "Catagories"

Thanks for your response. On my PC, I'm using "Catagories" for my Notes and Tasks; just as DA recommends. The problem appears to be that my PDA (PPC IPAC 3870) does not support the classification of notes or tasks by catagory. I've read that there are third party apps like "Pocket Informant: and "Agenda Fusion" that solve this problem. The question is; is a third party app required and if so, which is better for implementing GTD!

webagogue

Registered
All PocketPCs synch categories for tasks

does not support the classification of notes or tasks by catagory.

Tasks will synchronize categories. You cannot not synchronize categories for tasks. It happens without any interaction on your part. Notes will not show categories on the PocketPC.