Note Taking Formats

remyc88

Registered
I saw this the other day and I was fascinated by how Bill Gates takes notes...

...The other thing I noticed during the course of the meeting is how he takes his notes. He doesn't take notes from top-to-bottom, but rather logically divides the page into quadrants, each reserved for a different thought. For example, it appeared that all his questions were placed at the bottom of the page...

I'm wondering does anyone else do this? And if so, how do you divide up your quadrants?

Currently I take notes from Top-Down and sometimes I may miss some points when I'm processing these notes in my Weekly Review.

(Linky: http://weblogs.asp.net/rhoward/posts/6128.aspx )

Bryan

Registered
I frequently mindmap notes on just about anything, including meetings. I've been doing it for almost 20 years, and obviously, YMMV; but it works very well for me. I also adapt my notetaking style to the meeting. Basic staff meeting notes are often linear, b/c I've learned there will be no more than 1 side of a page of info, much less actionable items. I then march down the list asap after the meeting and note disposition of each action (e.g., "added to project list").Mindmaps would have each main topic as a "branch" and actionable items actually stand out pretty well.

Those unfamiliar w/ mindmap can search w/ google. Tony Buzan is perhaps the most well-known authority.

--Bryan

remyc88

Registered
whkratz:

yeah, isn't that interesting? Considering that OneNote was suppose to be his pet project! lol :?

TesTeq

Registered
Smart BillG & Microsoft

BillG and Microsoft are smart and we should follow them. If you want to be as successful as Bill do not use any software or tablet pc for notetaking. Paper is more reliable so you can focus on your notes and do not need to keep your equipment alive (dead battery, not enough memory, general protection error, infected disc and so on, and so on, and so on, day after day...)
Regards,
TesTeq

M

me_brown1110