Outlining software - Inspiration

K

kirkmc

I'm relatively new to GTD, but am applying it to my work and learning to adapt the tools I use often.

I'm an outliner; as a writer, I couldn't imagine writing a book or article without outlining (and, in many cases, need to have outlines for my proposals). So I've long been a user of Inspiration, which is a combined outliner/mind-map program.

I was surprised to find, in GTD, that David Allen didn't grok Inspiration: he puts it down, when talking about "brainstorming" software, saying "You might as well dump ideas into a word processor."

I wonder if he really used the program - Inspiration offers both a mind-map view and a standard outline view, so after you've brainstormed, you can switch to outline view and start organizing your ideas hierarchically.

In fact, Inspiration is the most flexible tool I've used for idea generation and management. Anyone else use outliners? Any thoughts on Inspiration? I'm wondering if Inspiration could be a tool for organizing tasks and projects, but I hesitate because of the lack of attributes (categories, etc.)

TesTeq

Registered
Old Inspiration problem.

Some years ago I bought and was trying to use Inspiration but it couldn't handle Polish language properly. So I had to dump it :( .
TesTeq

K

kirkmc

TesTeq: Mac or Windows? You might want to check and see if it handles Polish now...

TesTeq

Registered
Inspiration/PC

It was PC version. The overall Windows internationalization progressed since that time so now it can work OK with Polish language, who knows? Anyway currently I do not plan to test it.
Thanks,
TesTeq

Vilmosz

Registered
Why Inspiration is good -- but not for GTD