Outlook and Projects

Vilmosz

Registered
I'm not a techie -- been using a paper planner, but in my new job I've got access to the whole Microsoft suite which I think I will begin using as a Treo is in the offing as well.

Basic question-- and I don't mind (nay, would be grateful) being steered to the proper thread in case I overlooked it -- but Outlook has a tasks pane but no project pane. Do you just creat a category for the project and use TASKS for the NA's or -- is there a better way?

Thanks!

Broto

Registered
Correct. Outlook doesn't have a "Project" field that can be used with its task/mail/appointment items. You can add custom fields to Outlook, but if you need to sync with a PDA, you'll need to make sure your sync software, as well as the PDA application, can use those custom fields.

Categories are the simplest way to add project information to your Outlook items. You can also use Contacts as projects, a hack that's been discussed on this forum and others, where you create a "dummy" contact for each project, and link tasks/appointments/mail to that project.

Hope this helps.
:)

Tom Shannon

Registered
Vilmosz said:
I'm not a techie -- been using a paper planner, but in my new job I've got access to the whole Microsoft suite which I think I will begin using as a Treo is in the offing as well.

Basic question-- and I don't mind (nay, would be grateful) being steered to the proper thread in case I overlooked it -- but Outlook has a tasks pane but no project pane. Do you just creat a category for the project and use TASKS for the NA's or -- is there a better way?

Many people use contacts for projects. There's an "Activities" tab in the contact form which collects all items that have that contact in the field. I also have been known to occasionally embed documents into an MSWord outline. OneNote can be a valuable tool in this respect, as well, if it came with your suite for the PPC.

Tom S.

jpm

Registered