Outlook GTD plugin - Copy messages instead of moving them

L

lukebo

Hi everybody!
I'm Luca, I'm pretty new to the GTD world! I recently finished the book... entering the enthusiast circle of the GTDers.

Since I spend my whole workday in front of a pc screen, using Outlook for managing my mail, tasks and calendar... I thought that installing and evaluating the GTD Outlook plugin was the first thing to do in order to organize the hi-tech side of my system.

I'm still familiarizing with the plugin features... It seems working very good.

But... There's one thing I haven't been able to configure that drives me crazy.

When you use an e-mail you received (or you sent) to create a new task... the mail is moved by the plugin into a separate folder named as the action category (@work, @errands, ...).
So the message disappears from the original place... and the destination folder gets full of different mails which can be sent items or received items.

That - according to me - is nonsense.

I save every mail I receive or send for future reference and for my "knowledge base"... and keep them all in "inbox" if it's a received item or in "sent" if is a sent item (i'm a fan of the "search, don't sort method").

So... the question is... is there any way to COPY instead of MOVE the e-mails used as base for new actions, leaving the original into its folder and having the copy in the appropriate action folder??

Thanks in advance!

Luca
Italy

kewms

Registered
If you search, rather than sorting, why does it matter where the email is filed?

Leaving messages in your inbox indefinitely is directly in conflict with the GTD philosophy, which states that your inbox(es) should be a collection point(s), not a storage point(s).

With that said, if you still want to do it, look on the Outlook Edit menu, where you will find an item labeled "Copy to Folder." (I don't use the Outlook add-in, however, so I don't know if it changes this menu item. )

Katherine

L

lukebo

kewms said: