Process phase flowchart (for feedback)

P

Pres

I'm just starting out with GTD, just finished the book this week, but while reviewing it at Starbucks I found myself piecing together an informal flowchart for the Process phase, just for my own comprehension.

When I got home I put this together in OmniGraffle, and wanted to see what people thought. About how accurate is this as it stands? Am I missing any important pieces, or getting something wrong?

Thanks!

Pres

process_flow.gif

A

Anonymous

Very nice diagram, but I'm not sure what purpose it serves that the workflow diagram in the book does not.

kglade

Registered
I guess since GTD encourages you to customize it to suit your needs there is no way I ought to criticize. However, since you invited comments...

I think you are missing somthing in the defer thread, namely, putting the item into a dated calendar of some sort not just a pending box. Similarly, for the incubate thread there should be a dated tickler.

I think the pending box ought to be split into @calls, @work, @home, @waiting for, etc., not just be one mixed pile. David Allen is clear that one big mixed stack leads to feelings of overwhelm and numbness, and distrust of the reminder portion of what should be a "trusted" system.

The "add new project stake" may mean something to you, but not to me. Where are project stakes stored?

One tip: in the book version of the flowchart the bold outling boxes are meant to represent buckets to hold similar items. Your flowchart has a different (in my mind, flawed) number of buckets. Start by creating the buckets just as shown in the book, try the system for while, then see if anything needs adjusting.

Please feel free to disregard any or all of the above.

Regards,
Ken

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the comments!

but I'm not sure what purpose it serves that the workflow diagram in the book does not.