Project, area of responsibility, or maybe somewhere in between?

ivanjay205

Registered
Curious how you would all handle this..... I am a business owner and not directly responsible for business development as I have a team that does handle it. However, I do come across people I want to do business with and pursue them and of course occasionally do get involved in business development efforts.

I met today with someone I have personally done business with and know for many many years. He is starting his own consulting business and there is a real chance to do work together in the future. We had a great discussion and left it as "lets stay in touch." He needs some time to get his business launched before we can do work.

So from a GTD perspective I guess the project would be "Establish X as a client for Y". Once we are engaged in one project I would turn him over to someone on my team to execute, monitor to ensure success and repeat. Once we get through a couple of projects I could say this is done and move on and let me team manage.

That being said, David defines a project within a year..... This could be within a year, this could be three years. All depends on how successful he is. I am either going to continue to pursue until we do business and say it is complete or at some point feel like he is not going to generate business for us in partnership and close out the project and move on. But again could be 1 year, could be 3.

It is not an area of focus..... But it is a longer term project.

Would you put this on your project list regardless? And how would you track this? Purely just create a recurring next action to Touch Base with person X until it moves to the next step every 6 months or so?