Question on Projects, Next Actions and Sub-Projects&qu

A

andrewgmiles

Hi all.

Forgive me if this is a stupid question - but I've only recent read the GTD book and am working out how to apply it...

I get that... GTD divides between time-bound 'next actions' (which I am to put in a dairy) and 'next actions' that need to be done asap (which are stored under context-specific lists).

I get that... the project list is foundational, because I can regularly review it to satisfy myself that there is an actionable 'next action' for that project stored on either my diary or to-do lists.

I also get that... the definition of a project is any process that has more than one action required for it's sucessful completion.

What I am struggling with is how to plan a project out and store that in this system.

For example, I have on my project list right now: "Get 10 speakers for the SF conference" (I work as a conf organiser). Achieving this aim has something like 15 actions, some of which are sequential and some of which can be carried out independent of each other.

Presently, when I review my project list and come across this project, I can define the next action as 'research the web to find target speakers.' But there is a whole bunch of other actions to be done that crowd into my mind as I review this project. Do I ignore them or store them in a list somewhere that plans out that project.

Of course, that happens because 'getting speakers' is a familiar project for me and I understand the process already - but what about a project that is new to me and I want to work out it's steps from start to finish?

How does this kind of thing fit into the system? Or am I just over-comlicating things?

cheers for your thoughts!

Andrew

J

jmarkey