Read/Review and Next Actions

C

craigm

Hello,

I have a question which has been troubling me about GTD and Read/Review. I am a computer professional and hobbyist, and I have a lot of projects that are "Learn Open GL", "Learn Java", etc. These projects have reading material associated with them (Iin order to learn Open GL, I have to read the Open GL Programmers Guide I have. In order to learn Java, I have to read the Learn Java book). I'd like to know the "best practices" for handling this. Do I make the "Learn Open GL/Learn Java" items projects, or are they Goals/Objectives? Should my reading material be Next Actions? There are things which I'd like to learn, prompting purchases of many books I'd like to read, but I look at it on the shelf, and consider doing something else. :)

Thanks!

kglade

Registered
A suggestion - make the project "Learn Java" with a next action "Read chapter 1 of Java book." This way you break that large, intimidating job of reading a big book into bite-seize pieces, and you get the "win" every time you read one chapter. When you finish one chapter, make the next action "Read chapter 2 of Java book," and so on.

A

awebber

I use much of the same sort of system. During my yearly review every December, I pick 13 personal interest and development books to read over the coming year. My objective (see DA's tip on defining a project) is "Personal Interest Reading", under which I list the 13 books.

Which ever book I have chosen to read first is my current project. For example my current project is "Read Learning from the Future" and my current next action for anywhere is "Read LF Chpt 4." I put this under "@Anywhere" because I tend to carry what ever I am reading with me in my briefcase.