Separating the personal and the professional

M

maxsmith

Although it appears to me that David Allen advocates a system combining the personal and the professional (work, for him, is anything that is not where it should be, or the way it should be), I have decided to attempt to "leave work at work" and manage my professional and personal lives separately. I won't go into detail on why I've chosen to do this, but I wonder if others have ever tried to implement GTD principles in this fashion.

The fact that I can even attempt this relies on the nature of my job. I am a Systems Administrator for a large state university who works 85% of the time at my desk and 15% of the time in a central server facility adjacent to my office. I am currently using Outlook and the GTD Outlook plugin and am very happy with that system. When it's time to go home, I shut down my computer and leave it all behind until the next work day - I carry nothing away with me. I know this is imposible for many others to even consider due to the nature of what they do, but it seems to helping me be more focused at work, and more relaxed at home.

I haven't yet decided on a system for managing personal "work". I have used Palm OS devices in the past, but it's my desire not to carry one any longer (another recent decision). I have always felt that pen and paper suited me more naturally than any high-tech method of capturing and organizing thoughts and actions, so I am leaning toward a paper-based approach. I would welcome any suggestions on a simple, effective paper-based method of managing my personal life.

I do wonder if anyone has tried or is currently applying GTD principles in a similar fashion (separating professional/personal) and would welcome any input on the topic.

thanks,
Max

A

Anonymous

GTD w/paper

Max, you might want to take a look at David's article on how to set up a a paper planner in the Gear Tips & Tools section on this site.