Shopping for new smartphone - need helps

StanH

Registered
Hi Dear members:

I am looking for a new smartphone and need some advice on finding one that works for GTD. I am sure this questions has been asked hundreds of times but I've spent the last few month researching and had no real luck. Help:(

I am using a PC, Outlook 07 with GTD add-on, am loving it and very used to it. My trouble has always been getting that outlook tasks/project/context mapped onto my mobile - what would you recommend?

ps. my data feed is very slow so interent-based solution is out

Thank you

serge

Registered
Good morning,

I'm no expert and the following is only based on my personal experience, but perhaps it helps. I'm in the same situation: Outlook 2007 is standard for email at my workplace, and I also use it (to my satisfaction) for calendar & lists. I recently upgraded my phone, explored various options (iPhone, Symbian, Android, BlackBerry, Windows Mobile) and in the end settled for a recent Windows Mobile phone (HTC Touch Diamond2).

I realize that Windows Mobile 6.1/6.5 is not the most elegant phone operating system available at the moment, but it does have the important virtue of syncing seamlessly with Outlook with minimal effort. In particular, if your provider uses an Exchange server and you have a data plan, the phone syncs email/calendar/tasks in real time with the server (just like your computer). I've found this to be a very liberating experience! I understand that the BlackBerry platform offers a similar (better?) experience, but only if your Exchange server supports their protocol (mine doesn't).

Hope this helps!

Cheers,
Serge

jimboling

Registered
WinMo and GTD:
One bonus there - I think - is that there is a version of Natara Bonsai for WinMo. That is my current GTD tool but I am just using it on Palm OS.

Anyone out there using the WinMo version of Bonsai? Is it really still in Beta after a couple years?

PeterW

Registered