Students Implementing GTD

V

Vexir

Has David Allen ever said anything about implementing GTD for college students? On how it could work or may have to be altered?

I'm just beginning my adventure with GTD and am about to enter college. I was looking for a way to be far more productive and streamlined in the way I work than I was in previous years; college being at this point in time the most important part of my life.

Edit:// I found this GTD variation:http://calnewport.com/blog/?p=15 - Any opinions from the hardened GTD veterans around here?

Brent

Registered
Vexir;59697 said:
Has David Allen ever said anything about implementing GTD for college students? On how it could work or may have to be altered?

I'm just beginning my adventure with GTD and am about to enter college. I was looking for a way to be far more productive and streamlined in the way I work than I was in previous years; college being at this point in time the most important part of my life.

The principles should apply no matter what you're doing. You still need to collect stuff, process it, define your commitments, review them weekly, etc.

Edit:// I found this GTD variation:http://calnewport.com/blog/?p=15 - Any opinions from the hardened GTD veterans around here?

Some aspects are great, but there are a few significant issues.

In particular, "The project scope is insufficient for the needs of a student, as, typically, the first action for the project gets put on the next action list and the project itself isn’t visited again for another week." No, in GTD you aren't limited to one action on a Project per week.

The article calls the Tickler "not as relevant to students," which I don't understand. I'd think it's particularly relevant to students, who have a lot of near-future deadlines and would want to be reminded of future work when it's time for it.